Ashok Vajpeyi


Ashok Vajpeyi, a distinguished Hindi poet, critic, editor, and cultural administrator, has been a senior civil servant in culture and the arts. He was the first Vice Chancellor of Mahatma Gandhi International Hindi University, Government of India. He has won two prestigious national awards for poetry, namely the Sahitya Akademi Award and Dayavati Modi Kavi Shekhar Samman in 1994. He is the author of many books of poetry, including: Shahar Ab Bhi Sambhavna Hai, Ek Patang Anant Mein, Agar Itne Se, Tatpurush, Kahin Nahin Vahin, Ghaas Mein Dubaka Akash, Tinka Tinka, Bahuri Akela, Thodi Si Jagah, Viviksha, among others. His books of critical essays include: Philhal, and Samay Se Bahar. His poems have been translated into many Indian and foreign languages. Currently, he is the Chairman of the Lalit Kala Akademi in New Delhi.